Feeling Pretty Fly-y-y-y-y

So, as I previously mentioned, I will disclose the price.  Keisha Lake won the contest from the thousands of contestants that entered.  She guessed $823548961597657.26, and the correct price was $20! Great job, Keisha! You won a high-five!

Anyway, I have loved riding the Firebolt around campus.  And people are, oh so, jealous.  I speed past people and get places in half the time.  Though, one thing that I have been struggling with is getting up the hills to campus.  Walking up the dreaded hills are bad, but over the past three years, I have been able to master the technique of walking/running up hills while trying to make it to class on time (Step one: place the right foot in front.  Step two: place the left foot in front.  Step three: repeat infinitely).

 

I am an amateur when it comes to riding up hills on a bike.  The past week I have had to come up with various excuses to stop mid-hill due to the extreme wheezing.  I used all the tricks in my book:

 

  • Dropping something. This allows maximum time to get off the bike, collect item(s), readjust, and get back on the bike. This is one of my favorites because you can lengthen the time off the bike according to how tired you are without looking too ridiculous.
  • Finding a friend to talk to.  This can be a little harder because you need to turn the conversation so they are doing most of the talking, so you can collect your breath.
  • Pretending to be afraid that the ice is too slick, so needing to walk the bike up the hill instead.
  • Tying your shoe.
  • Tightening your Velcro strap around your pant leg.
  • Pretending your gears on the bike are messed up.

 

As you can see, I am seriously a baby.

 

After comments like, “You aren’t suppose to take your bike for a walk” and “That’s not what you do with a bike”, I decided that it was time for me to become a big girl, and to make it up the big, scary hill.

This is how big the hill practically is, but I conquered it on February 10, 2011 at 10:37 a.m.  I then conquered it again three hours after that.  That’s right ladies and gentlemen, twice in one day.  I was feeling pretty fly-y-y-y about myself.  I was peddling with a swagger, if you will.

 

I was back peddling like a normal person quickly, though.  I was trying to go up onto a sidewalk from the road, and apparently I was too parallel-like to the curb instead of perpendicular-like because I completely biffed it.  Like, on the ground, bike on top of me, biffed it.  I quickly got back onto my bike, and rode away humbled.

 

Anyway, the firebolt and I are still cruising (up hills now!), but a little more cautiously.

2 thoughts on “Feeling Pretty Fly-y-y-y-y

  1. Ken says:

    Good to see you being such a big girl these days! Maybe next you’ll be using a big girl cup without the sippy top ;)

    btw…”infinitesimally” means, “indefinitely or exceedingly small; minute” according to dictionary.com and is used in finding integrals of stuff in calculus. So…I guess you only take two steps and that’s it. Or your steps are incredibly small and it would take you forever to get anywhere

Leave a Reply

