Lent

 

We belong to The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (aka Mormon). It’s not a regular practice to do a formal lent from Ash Wednesday to Easter in our church even though we are Christian, but I really like the idea of lent. The first time I heard about lent I asked my mom why our church didn’t do that. She said that we are suppose to do lent informally all the time. Due to my extreme lack of self-control, I like to commit to sacrificing one thing during lent because I have no motivation to do so otherwise.

 

Miss Karie Chamberlain (Oh, shout out!) taught me a bunch about lent. I love that girl. She’s so amazing. She’s one of the most kind, sweet, caring, and self-less person I have ever met. She volunteers all the time, and I seriously don’t know how she gets everything done. She’s is currently living in Washington, so we don’t really get to see each other as much anymore. I hate it. Want to hear how we became best friends?

 

Eighth grade we were both in Algebra 1 with Mrs. Tyranny (I can’t remember her real name . . . this is the name that I always thought in my head). We became friends because we both would stay after class/school to try and understand what the heck was happening in the class. So basically, our stupidity brought us together, and the stupidity has blossomed ever sense. :) I will go more in-depth in a later post. Good times (Cowboy Casanova).

 

This picture describes Karie beautifully. I love it.

 

Anyway, back to lent- Kenneth and I finally decided what we want to give up. We decided that we are going to only have sweets two times a week. I know, I know, I know. It’s kind of cheating because we will not be giving up sweets for the complete 40 days, but last year I tried to give up sweets completely, and I (1) gained weight because I was eating so much other stuff and (2) failed halfway through the 40ish days. Though, I still think this will be a nice challenge for us. I think it will be good for me to learn more self-control.

 

So basically, the reason why I did this post was to not play my self-righteous horn, but to publish our goal so that we can be held accountable. Hopefully I will be able to write some follow-up posts on how successful we are.

3 thoughts on “Lent

  1. HAHA. YES, shout out :) I like how since I subscribed to this I get emails right away. It’s like I have a sensor in your jeans or something.

    Yay Lent!! And boo, Mrs. Tyranny (I don’t remember how to spell it either, I feel like there’s an “ie” in there somewhere. Tierney, maybe?). The only thing I remember about that woman is the jazzercise fiasco. Good times, good times.

    BRING KENNETH TO WASHINGTON!!! Are you guys going to Fiji this summa? Or something?

Leave a Reply

