Storytime

 

Once upon a time, Kenneth and I had to walk to our stranded car. (This story took place about 2 months ago.) There was snow on the ground, and let me tell you, it was not a warm day. Our car was stranded up near the MTC (missionary training center), which is about 2 miles from our house. We needed to put a new battery into our car, so we had to carry the car battery to the car . . . and by we I mean Kenneth.

My awesome husband carried that 30 pound battery for 1.5 miles! Up a hill! In the dead of winter. Foreals. I was so grateful. He was carrying it like a champ. Seriously, that thing was heavy. Let me put things into perspective:

I was carrying two small suitcase-like bags. I was sore the next day after carrying them for 15 minutes. Those bags weighed, maybe, 5 pounds each. Talk about a baby. Poor Kenneth had to carry that huge battery all by himself. I felt so bad. I kept offering to help, but let’s be real, I was struggling with those itty-bitty bags.

We were walking along 900 East in Provo (which is a very busy street). We had already been walking for about 20 minutes when a guy stopped and asked if he could take us to where we were going. I was so shocked, but so thankful! He asked where he could take us, we told him, and he drove us their. He apologized that he didn’t stop earlier when he was driving the other direction ten minutes ago. I thought “Wha? You feel bad that you didn’t stop earlier?” What a nice guy. He was so cool.

This taught me two very valuable lessons. I think far too often I am wrapped up in my own little world to help other people. I am not sure if I would have stopped. I am sure that man had other things that he had been planning to do that day or could have done. I am grateful that he stopped. I also think that far too often I judge. At least 100 cars drove by us that day. If I had a crowd of 100 people, I would not have guessed that that man would have been the one to stop.  He was tatooed and was a little “scruffy” looking.  This man was a great example to me.

I did not start writing this blog post to talk about what an example this man was to me. I was going to write this blog post about how great my husband is, but these two topics are interchangeable. My husband is such a great example to me. He is so amazing. He works so hard in school and at work, yet he always makes time for me. I don’t know how he does it. I am not sure how I got so lucky, but I thank Heavenly Father every day for letting Kenneth come into my life. I love you, Kenneth! :)

One thought on “Storytime

  1. Suzanne says:

    I would have given you guys a ride to the MTC! Even if I was unavailable, at the very least, you could have borrowed one of our cars. Please ask next time!

Leave a Reply

