Second to the FBI

So I work 8-5 Monday-Friday, and I Iove my job. I love the people I work with because they are oh-so fun (shout out!). Anyway, I take an hour lunch break every day. Typically I eat lunch with Stace-face.

Yesterday we were eating lunch outside, and this lady came up to us. She said “Habla espaniol?” I know enough Spanish to know that I should say “no” to that question.

Fact: BYU is second to the FBI in the most languages spoken. More than 2/3rds of the student body speak a second language.

Knowing this tid-bit, I got up and started asking people if they spoke Spanish. I knew that I would find someone. I asked like 20 people before someone said yes! I was surprised it took that long. This may seem funny to you that I was surprised it “took so long” if I only asked 20 people, but so many people speak Spanish at BYU! It’s not uncommon to be walking down a hallway next to a group of people casually speaking Spanish.

Anyway, while I was searching for a Spanish-speaker, the lady continued to try to talk to Stacy. It was so funny. Stacy kept on saying “No, I do not speak Spanish”, “No”, “I don’t know”, “Nope”, “Uh, I don’t understand”, etc.; however, Stacy did understand when the lady said, “I like to leer”. I think that since she understood this, it may have given the lady false hope, so that’s why she kept speaking to Stacy in Spanish. It was so funny. I laughed at Stacy from afar.

One last story that I find hilarious. You may have to look for the humor, though (think about how bizarre this truly is)-

There was a guy walking briskly past the library. In passing, I asked if he spoke Spanish. He said, nonchalantly, “No, French,” and continued walking away like it was no big deal that he could speak another language! Haha only at BYU.

Leave a Reply

