Sweet Dreams

I am a sleep talker, walker, and spider killer. A few weeks ago I was half in and out of a dream and woke up, convinced that there was a spider above Rachel’s head. Since Rachel hates spiders (big understatement), and since I am such a loving husband, I did the dutiful thing that any husband would do, I went after the spider. Frantically swinging at the wall I heard a faint question come from Rachel ask what I was doing. Not wanting to scare her I told her that I wasn’t doing anything, even though I pretty much saved her life from the invisible spiders. By that time I was fully awake, and feeling really stupid for swinging my pillow at invisible spiders, I laid back down for the rest of the night.

Fast forward a week or two. Similar half dosed mental state. I can’t remember what I was dreaming about, but there was some urgent need to get out of bed, and even the house. Thinking that something was going to fall and crush me, I leaped to my feet, heart racing fast. I told Rachel, “Come on! We have to go now!” Thankfully she paid me no heed and by that time I was fully alert. Once again feeling stupid, I did the most sensible thing anyone would do when they wake up from a strange dream…I went to the kitchen, ate some chocolate chips, laid down on the couch and fell asleep. Man, I’m really weird at night.

One thought on “Sweet Dreams

  1. Tracey says:

    Oh my goodness I am laughing so hard I’m crying right now. I’m a sleep talker but I don’t think I’ve ever done anything that funny in my sleep haha.

Leave a Reply

