Internship!

Thanks to Rachel’s frequent pleadings, I’m finally writing this post…two and a half months after the fact. I’m not the best about writing blog posts, in case you couldn’t tell. Anyway, I have an internship offer with IM Flash Technologies in Lehi, UT!!

The internship will start the 21st of May and will go about half way through August. IM Flash is a joint venture company between Intel and Micron that manufactures Nand flash (semi-conductors). The semi-conductor wafers that they manufacture are used in lots of things like thumb drives, iPod/iPads, and SSD drives. I don’t know exactly what I’ll be doing for the 12 weeks, but I know that I’ll be working with the Wet Etch process department. There are hundreds of processes involved in the manufacturing of semi-conductor wafers. A typical production time from Silicon wafer to finished product is a few weeks. If you’re actually interested in wet etch processes I recommend this Wikipedia article.

I’m very grateful for the BYU career fair that made it possible for me to meet HR reps and engineers from IM Flash, the interview that I had back in November, and the internship offer I received in December.

Rachel and I are really excited to be staying in Utah for the summer for a number of reasons. Mainly so that we don’t have to pack up all our junk and move somewhere for 3 months, but also to enjoy family close by, the great ward we’re a part of now, so Rachel can take some classes during spring term and keep her job, and to enjoy the many outdoor adventures that Utah has to offer. We plan on going camping once or twice a month, so if anyone wants to join us just let us know!

One thought on “Internship!

  1. Christine says:

    Congrats again!
    I just wanted to say that I think it’s weird that I did my student teaching in Lehi and your internship is in Lehi. Odd coincidence.

Leave a Reply

