The Lazy Man

So I am choosing to publish this on the world wide web so that all the people reading  this (aka my Dad) can hold me to what I am about to say.

I am doing the Lazy Man Iron Man that is put on by BYU. The Lazy Man Iron Man is an ironman extended over a month, but there are still 26.2 miles of running, 112 miles of cycling, and 2.4 miles of swimming, except I made a few changes before I agreed to said triathalon. The event is suppose to end on March 31, but I decided that I deserve 3 extra days because I still hadn’t gotten the “a-okay” from my doctor that I could workout on March 1 when it started. So I will finish on April 3.

Second, I am not swimming. I am just nixing that whole little leg. Am I a wimp? Yeah so what. I took swim lessons growing up, but I still do not like swimming laps because I have no form. It may be because whenever I had swim lessons as a kid, my sister and I would eat a pound of sugar beforehand and so the lessons always resulted in endless giggling between the two of us followed by individual punishment laps. (Am I right or am I right, Tracey?) You think the individual laps would have taught me form, but usually I would just end up pushing off of the wall hard, swimming under the water for as long as I could, and then dog paddling the rest of the way. Awesome.

So there you have it. Ken is doing this also, but he is doing the swimming portion, too. He did almost half of the swimming in a hotel pool when he was in South Carolina this past weekend. What I would give to see him endlessly swimming back in forth in that tiny pool. So funny! He did 225 laps in a 25 foot pool. Talk about boring!

3 thoughts on “The Lazy Man

  1. Christine says:

    It’s sad to hear that I wasn’t the only one with a terrible swimming lesson experience. Our teacher didn’t teach us good form, either – I never learned how to do the breathing (which is slightly important…). And I was never very good at the doggy paddle, so when I ran out of momentum from the wall push I would swim on my back or hang on to the floating lane dividers for dear life (with my instructor yelling at me to let go).

Leave a Reply

