Stages of Life

 

Well, we have a definite roller now. We have been trying for a while to get him to roll again, and he finally did it tonight. Ken and I were just talking and then all of a sudden Kenny rolled unto his back like it was no big deal. I just saw it out of the corner of my eye, so I really wanted to see him do it again. I put him back on his stomach and immediately he rolled over again. I kept on trying to get a video/picture of it, but he was too fast. As you can see in the above pictures, I got the beginning and the end, but I can’t seem to get the middle part aka the most important part of him actually rolling over.

Each time Kenny reaches a new stage, I get a bit nostalgic. I know that it’s completely ridiculous and silly, but seeing him roll over tonight really made me realize that each moment is precious. You can try to catch it on camera, but usually it doesn’t turn out as good anyway (especially having me as the photographer). I have officially made a “treasured moments” folder in my brain to store all of my favorite memories and images. Like when I walked out of our apartment this evening and the full moon was just coming up over the mountains. It was so beautiful, and I thought about running in and grabbing my camera,  but I knew it wouldn’t turn out as well as how I saw it at that moment. Life is such a blessing, and it’s good to just take a second and drink it in every day. My baby is growing and reaching new stages, but that’s okay. Each new stage is its own new little adventure, and it’s good to find joy in the journey.

Our little family is coming up on a big new stage quickly (moving across the country), but I’m up for it. Am I a bit nostalgic and sad? You bet. I have loved the time I’ve had here in Utah, and I love all of the people I’ve met. It’s crazy to think about how I’ve lived in Utah for nearly six years now, and tomorrow Ken and I will officially graduate from BYU. To say the least, it’s a bit surreal. And sad. And scary. And emotional. My friend Stacy does a really good job of recapping some fun stories we’ve had together. I wish I could remember those stories as well as she can, but I guess I’ve tried to block out some of the ridiculousness. :)

Got to say, I love life, and I love the possibilities that life has in store for us. Each new stage may be hard, but it’s all part of growing and learning.

 

 

Leave a Reply

