BYU

Over 7 years ago, I was getting ready to go to cheerleading practicing, and my dad pulled me aside and said that he needed to talk to me. He told me that my family would be moving to Utah. Since I was a junior in high school and would be pulled away from my senior year, he gave me the choice to stay in Cincinnati or to move with my family. I prayed about it, and I felt like I really needed to go to Utah.

My whole senior year, I was looking for the reason why I had felt that I needed to move to Utah. I thought it was because I needed to help someone. Come to find out, I was really helping myself.

One day during my senior year, I was sitting in Calculus class, and my name came over the intercom. I was told to go down to the office. When I walked through the office doors, my counselor was standing there waiting for me, and she told me that I had received a scholarship to BYU. I was floored. I honestly could not believe what she had said. I nearly dropped dead right there in the office. See, I had really been debating where I wanted to go to college. I was very concerned about money, and I wasn’t considering BYU very seriously (even though I really did want to go there) because it was more expensive than my other options where I had received scholarships. A few months back, I had applied for a BYU scholarship that one Lehi High student would receive. I thought nothing of it, and honestly had kind of forgotten about it. Who knew that the application that I filled out would drastically alter my life?

I can honestly say that I would not have gone to BYU if I hadn’t moved to Utah. I wouldn’t have received that scholarship had I stayed in Cincinnati. I am so grateful for the donors who made it possible for me to go to BYU. I am so thankful that I prayed and felt impressed to move to Utah. BYU has been one of the best things that has ever happened to me. I met such great, amazing friends who have taught me more than I can even express in words. I met my handsome, loving husband here at BYU. I now have a sweet little baby boy who I love dearly. I have learned so much in my time here at BYU both spiritually and academically.

And here it is. My adventure here at BYU has officially come to an end. Both Ken and I (and baby Kenny) graduated today.

Baby Graduation Cap and Gown

So many good memories and experiences here at BYU. Was it hard at times? Yes, but it was beyond worth it. I will forever be in debt to those donors who made it possible for me to come to BYU.

2 thoughts on “BYU

  1. kallin13 says:

    Hey this is really inspiring. We have just decided that I go through school with my hubby. We were wondering, how on earth will we make it through school with our lil baby? But seeing how you and your family made through, it’s given us hope that we can do it too! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

