Look Who Dropped By . . .

Guess who dropped by last weekend? My family! (Minus my sister, brother-in-law, and niece. They were moving that coming week and had a lot to do to get ready. Missed them.) It was so fun to see my dad, mom, and brother though.

And holy moly! Have you seen how tall my brother has gotten? When did that happen?

<<We went to rival high schools. Him Turpin and me Anderson (Anderson is OBVIOUSLY better). It looks like I may be supporting Turpin in this picture, but look closer. It says “Beat Turpin” and the mascot has a mustache. I used to wear that shirt in high school.>>

20130806-164744.jpg

<<Kenny loved seeing “Poppers” and “Nana”! My mother requests to be called “Nana” because she says that she is not old enough to be a grandma. I think Nana makes her sound older. Am I right?>>

20130806-164756.jpg

<<Kenny’s shirt says, “Send me to: Grandma’s. Special Delivery.”>>

We only had a few days with them, but we managed to do a lot of activities still.

We had a BBQ at a friend’s house who lives on the lake. Afterwards Jake and Ken went kayaking.

20130806-164820.jpg

<<This is our friends’ backyard. Beautiful, huh?>>

Ken told me later that every time a boat came by and created waves, they would “ride the waves” and pretend they were huge swells that were about to tip them over, but in reality they barely rocked their kayaks. Seriously, Jake brings out the inner kid in Ken. Those two stayed up late and played video games together, constantly teased me, played frisbee golf, and managed to dunk me in the swimming pool (I knew I shouldn’t have worn make-up or done my hair that day).

We went to the Jockey Lot, which is a haaa-uge flea market.

Jockey Lot

<<65 acres of redneck randomness>>

Jake bought a huge belt buckle that says “Bubba” with a confederate flag in the background. I think it will go well with his pocket watch he bought the other day. (What? Who does that? haha it is pretty cool, though.)

20130812-140251.jpg

<<And Jake just had to buy Ken a Ken barbie doll since they share a name.>>

We also went to an auction. Apparently the locals go here on the weekends just to hang out. We decided to stop on by and check it out.

20130806-164840.jpg

<<It was so hot in the warehouse. And it smelled exactly how you would imagine a warehouse filled with old items would smell.>>

<<Some of the items Jake really wanted (creepy doll head and doll, tractor seat, and bust). He almost got the bust, but right when it went up for bid, they took it off the floor for some reason. He was bummed.>>

And if you thought the creepy doll was scary, take a look at what we saw when we walked out of the auction house.

20130806-164924.jpg

Bah! Banana spider! It was at least the size of my palm. Of course the boys decided to terrorize the spider. Ken finally spat his gum and hit the spider, and then they ran away.

So glad that we were able to hang with this fun bunch for a bit! It is nice to live on the same side of the country now.

Leave a Reply

